Are chicken wings vegetables?
A smirk ran across my face when I read a recent post by The Mayor of Awesometown. He spoke of Pseudo-Vegetarians. While I agreed with his particular story (dude bitching about the cruelties of eating meat, and then following this up with a drunken meaty-treat), I can't help but feel that many find me to be lumped into this same group.
What an annoying group. Think they're so special (or maybe not!)...but yet get weak and eat meat.
Or maybe they just had a change of heart. Bacon tastes good. Chicken wings taste good (just found that one out this weekend -- I cannot believe I forgot how amazing they are!).
I never preached to anyone about the politics of eating meat. I just chose not to eat it myself...and now I've chosen to convert (sort of).
There's nothing wrong with having a dietary preference. I've decided that calling oneself a "vegetarian" is useless. Not that you can't be a veggie -- but why label it? Labels are moronic and unnecessary. If you don't want to eat meat, don't. That's your dietary preference. If you (read: I) want to eat mostly tofu and soy products but then supplement that with fantastic salty bacon and fatty spicy wings, then do so (and I will, thank you very much).
Labels just give people an excuse to gripe and bitch when you change your mind. "Ooh I thought you were a vegetarian" (in a sing-song voice). I was. Now I've changed my mind. There's nothing wrong with that. If people were forced to maintain the same mindset forever, the world would be full of morons. Adapt or die (as my husband says).
Adapting can mean learning about new political ideologies, or it can be as mundane as adapting one's tastes to enjoying the odd meaty dish.
(Crap -- my boss just walked in while I was typing this -- must learn to be more discrete -- he laughed, and asked "what stupid thing I did today" -- can I insert that getting caught blogging at work is a seriously stupid thing to do?!)
Anyways -- my point is: no more labels. They just cause people to feel that they cannot make changes without getting grief for it. I am no longer a vegetarian. I have some peculiar dietary preferences. That's all.
If you don't like it, beat it.


30 Comments:
You never pushed your Vegetarianism on anyone and plus we are not related so you are definitely cool in the Mayor's books!
However if there will be a point where anyone anywhere does start to preach (Why do you eat meat? It's bad for you, the animals, blah blah.") The Mayor will retaliate with a force that will be so great that only the Gods of Rock will be able to comprehend.
Well that or I will just tell them to shut up.
Congrats on your everything you just said stupid one as well as being true to your tastebuds ...
Mayor ... so let me get this straight ... in your books, you are the only one that's permitted to preach to anyone?
Uh oh -- do I smell another battle coming on?
I wasn't meaning to be inflammatory. Just wanted to eliminate the need for labels of any kind (and was a little proud of my new found bacon-eating ways).
No more labels. That goes for warning labels too.
If I want to drink bleach, I will. Don't tell me what to do.
Same goes for smoking.
PS - I wish I was a God of Rock. F-yeah.
no i meant absolutely no sarcasm to my congrats ... you're right ... about the wings, the bacon, the bleach, the smoking ... all of it ...
i just thought that it was funny how the mayor seems to be a preacher hating preacher ... i do like hypocrisy though ...
You got it anonymous. The Mayor can say or do what ever the Mayor wants, this way I can hear pissy feedback from anonymous people to scared to put thier names behind thier own comments.
mayor ... is "mayor of awesometown" on your birth certificate? I looked at your profile ... is "Bobby Mongoose" what you put on your last census as your real name?
Wow, you're really putting your name behind your comments ... your made up names are just as anonymous as the name "anonymous", don't you think?
Look back, hey its subjective I know, but I think your comments have been far more "pissy" than anything I've put.
This thread is about the stupid one's funny new post on wings and bacon ... not you ...
You bore me anonymous, clearly you decided to bring me into this. I am finished with your stupid games. I know exactly who you are anyways, just like you know who i am. We can talk about it tomorrow at my birthday party if you want because I know you will be there.
I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU STUPID GIRL....labels are for losers...is loser a label?
so if you know who I am why'd you make a big deal about it?
I could care less if you know who I am ... I'm just making comments like anyone else and if you get all fired up about it and make it personal calling me stupid or pissy or boring or whatever else you want ... fill your boots big guy. I've never made it personal.
And if I bore you, why do you get so fired up and spend the time responding?
Is someone writing posts that are so inflammatory that they felt the need to delete them?
Funny -- I was just writing about my boring (and stupid) life...didn't realize it would spark such controversy! :)
Seriously though -- "anonymous", my curiosity is killing me -- can you at least confirm that we do, in fact, know you (i.e. you're not some stranger who randomly stumbled across this silly little blog and got the Mayor all riled up!)?
Anonymous is "The Cotton King"
probabaly well over 500 thread count.
You're hilarious.
I'll see you tonight Cotton King! :)
(PS-I feel a HUGE sense of relief that it's not some creepy stranger...maybe I shouldn't have a public blog if I'm so concerned about other people reading it!)
It's not the cotton King.
I'm not the only one to have posted something as "anonymous" that's a guarantee ...
maybe the mayor is a good guesser ... maybe he got wrapped up in this enough to track the IP address (if so ... then come on ... you're taking this way too seriously) of someone who posted under anonymous ...
No, I'm Anonymous... Sorry, I thought we were sharing a Spartacus moment there..
Maybe I am anonymous. anonymously anonymous
that's funny "spouse of stupid one" ... what are the roman's gonna do now?
just putting it out there though ... but isn't it better as anonymous ... that way you respond to the message and not the sender ...
kinda like the way Tom Cruise has gone ... now that he's so "Tom Cruise" (couch jumping, scientologist, Brook Shields bashing etc.) the next time you see him in a movie you're only seeing the couch jumping guy ... not Lt. Pete Mitchell or whoever ...
Okay, if you're not the Cotton King, then why would you claim to be?
Makes no sense.
It'd be damn funny if I was "anonymous" -- just trying to get more people to read my boring little blog.
Wouldn't it.
I am the Walrus ... I am the eggman ... goo goo g'choo ...
hey "anonymous" wouldn't claim to be anything other than just that that ... hey, I really could care less if anyone did know who I was but that would ruin this for Tom Cruise reasons.
but there have been other people to post under "anonymous" ... maybe you stupid one ... maybe it was the mayor ... maybe it was the cotton king ... anybody could post under anonymous ...
I'm not a slacker...my boss knows about my blogalicious habits.
Okay, well I guess I'm still a slacker -- just not a sneaky one.
I'm growing bored of the game of anonymous Clue. That's a lie -- actually I find it quite entertaining (unfortunately it proves to be MUCH more entertaining than my actual posts!).
Brutal.
And no, I have never posted as anonymous. Though I have been informed of one "anonymous" post that cannot be attributed to "anonymous".
Good times.
Is it beer time yet?
I am pumped that you have hit 27 (now 28) comments on this thread. This is excellent! I think on the next post we should all post as anonymous and try and figure out who is really who.
Also I think the original OG "anonymous" posted on my page last week and then was actually mistaken by one of my ex girlfriends as someone that we both used to know. I got a laugh out of that.
I love.....wraping myself in beautiful....high thread count sheets.....I know you dot dot dot!
Mayor, I've never posted on your page and I have no idea who any of your ex-girlfriends are ...
I'm done ... this is the last you'll hear from me ... too carried away here ... but 29 is impressive (mayor how does your page do for reply numbers?) ... and stupid one, your original post was very entertaining ...
Hmmm well I guess I am wrong with my guesses anonymous, I was sure you had posted on my page.
It's too bad we won't see you anymore, I was begining to enjoy our banter, and I agree the stupid ones original post was very entertaining.
One more. That's it though. I know that I'm horrible about the dot, dot dot thing ... fuck it though, I'm just a lazy puctuator - don't really believe in it for a blog sorta thing. Anyhoo, I know punctuation counts:
A panda walks into a café. He orders a sandwich, eats it, then draws a gun and proceeds to fire it at the other patrons.
"Why?" asks the confused, surviving waiter amidst the carnage, as the panda makes towards the exit. The panda produces a badly punctuated wildlife manual and tosses it over his shoulder.
"Well, I'm a panda," he says at the door. "Look it up."
The waiter turns to the relevant entry in the manual and, sure enough, finds an explanation. "Panda. Large black-and-white bear-like mammal, native to China. Eats, shoots and leaves."
Been a slice ... later.
I'm not making fun of your puctuation.
I'm saying.......
I KNOW WHO YOU ARE!
I know who anonymous is...it is Cornel Mustard...in the Conservatory! I;ve got you now MUSTARD!
Darn -- I thought it was Ms. Scarlet -- with the candlestick...in the LIBRARY!
C-mon anonymous...this is too fun -- you can't just walk away! ;)
Who's the jack arse poting virus stuff on my blog (I assume that's what that is)?
Beat it.
You're not welcome here.
Post a Comment
<< Home